Exciting News

School Beginnings!

It’s kind of inevitable in September. Fall rolls around, the Christmas catalog hits the door mat and school is in session. I did promise photos of the dresses I did in my fashion show about a month ago and I am just getting the photos in now. it feels like a long time, but what do I know of these things? Without further ado, photos! Taken by the wonderful Dockrell Photography in London Ontario:

Dockrell 2

Dockrell 3

Dockrell 6

Dockrell 7

Dockrell 11

And Yes the jacket and the dress are made of playing cards. Completely and totally! Took a very long time to do but I believe the effect is stunning. That dress was a head turner (and still is I believe) and was great fun to make. It all turned out wonderfully. There was a small glitch with music (they had the wrong song) but my models did amazing and went through all on their own. Everyone was beautiful and lovely and a joy to work with!

Now onto more recent news! One of my models (in the red dress with white rose outline cutouts) is a coordinator for a show that is happening beginning of October (little over a month or so). She called me up after she got hired and asked me to be a designer for that show, being able to re-use the dresses that you see photographed here (well of course, why would I say no?) I am altering one dress that I currently own. It is a white wedding dress that was given to me years ago. It has been sitting in my closet for all this time, with the possibility of it becoming a leaves dress (oranges and browns, maple leaves all over. a little beading) And so I am re-using a few of the dresses here, and then I am altering that white dress as I had originally intended for a fall fashion show. I am also making a little bolero to go with it, with ruffles and the whole nine yards.

What is even more exciting, is because this dress is the one that is the embodiment of the theme, it has been chosen for the poster dress. This dress that I am altering, that I am putting together is being featured in the posters and cards for the show! Holy Crow!

Goosebumps and a Happy Jive. That is all I have to say to that!

Published in: on September 5, 2014 at 7:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://soundandstrings.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/exciting-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment